Back on Track

I recently lost my focus. I was so lost that everything nearly grinded to a halt. I was having a hard time getting my bearings and figuring out what the next step should be.

I couldn’t see the forest for the trees.

The problem wasn’t that I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to do. The problem was that I couldn’t decide what to do first. I was drowning in the minutia of “defining” myself as a writer instead of just being a writer. I was getting caught up in websites, webinars, blogs, contests and experimenting with as many different types of writing a possible.

Then I remembered my book, waiting, begging me to click open that file and breathe renewed life into it.

Now, don’t get me wrong. All of those other things have been important building blocks in my development as a writer. I have gained insight from each thing that I have done. In fact, I have intentionally chosen to expose myself to as much of this field as I possible. As I’ve mentioned before. I don’t have any formal writing training (sorry Riverside Elementary, I really did appreciate you sending me to The Junior Author’s Conference, but I really don’t think that is enough). So I have made it my mission to craft together my own writing curriculum.

So, where did things go astray? Somewhere along the way, I lost sight of my goal. Those darn trees again. Have you ever found yourself in that place? You are filled with enthusiasm for some new endeavor. You plow ahead, adrenalin coursing through your veins, only to find yourself completely lost a short time later? Where was your roadmap?

Life is designed to be distracting. Stimulation is assaulting our senses from all directions. Unless we sort and prioritize, we can get lost. Sometimes, you have to regroup.

How to reorganize your life in 5 simple steps:

1. Trim the fat. I have decided to blog once a week. As much as I love blogging, it is time consuming and distracting. So I will still connect, just not as much for now. I have also slowed down on the random contest entries (unless struck with mind blowing inspiration).

2. Clarify the goal. I have identified concrete writing goals in blocks of time over the next year. I know what I want to do this month, over the next 3 months, 6 months and 1 year.

3. Know your vices. I love exploring the Internet. I’ll admit it, I get a little rush of adrenalin when I stumble upon a jewel of a website. Then I will compulsively follow links until I am 9 or 10 web pages deep. Again with the trees. I have reined in my web crawling. The Internet, what a seductive little siren she is. If I could earn a living web browsing, I would be set.

4. Make your goal a priority. No exceptions. No excuses. Just get it done.

5. Stay focused. I love to write. That is what I do. At the end of the day, this is where most of my energy needs to be directed. If I can remember that, then everything else should fall into place.

I did click open that file.

Now that I am back to working on my stories, I am reinvigorated and excited about writing. I don’t feel lost but feel like I am exactly where I need to be right now.

How can you plan to sort and prioritize in your life today?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

