Writing with Purpose

I am here for a purpose and that purpose is to grow into a mountain, not to shrink to a grain of sand. Henceforth will I apply ALL my efforts to become the highest mountain of all and I will strain my potential until it cries for mercy.Og Mandino

 

Recently, I have read many blogs that have posed the question, “Why do you write?” Many of these blogs have gone on to explore the reasons that a writer becomes slave to the pen (or keyboard) or reasons why one shouldn’t write.

What drives you?

For the longest time, I thought that my reasons for writing were pretty straight forward. I love pouring my words out onto the page, in fact, I feel absolutely compelled to do so. I have laid awake some nights with thoughts floating in my head begging to be released onto my computer screen. I want to share my words with others and maybe even get published. For a while, I assumed that this is what drove most writers. But this is an overly simplified and naïve assumption.

The reasons people write are as numerous as the number of writers pounding away at their keyboards.

Recently, I had an “aha moment” (thank you Oprah). One person may write with no intention of ever letting another soul see their words. Another person may write for a therapeutic catharsis. Still another may write with hopes of becoming a New York Times #1 best selling author.

There is no right reason to write.

However, there is a right reason that you write. And it doesn’t matter to anyone else what that reason is. What matters is that you are true to your purpose. Working through your own true purpose is the only way that you will be successful in your endeavor.

Whatever you do and for whatever reason, do it with gusto.

Whatever reasons you have for making certain choices and following certain paths in your life, proceed with intent. Don’t be a passive observer in your own life. Sometimes I write purely for love of writing. Sometimes I write because I have a specific audience in mind for my work. Other times I write because I have committed to a project and I am determined to see it through. I write with purpose, because in that moment, I have fully committed to whatever I have set out to create.

When you write with purpose, what you create will be right.

I am not naïve believing that we will only write great masterpieces that will be read 100’s of years from now (although wouldn’t that be great?) Sometimes we write to stretch our creative muscles. Sometimes we write because we have a chance to make a little extra cash. Commit to whatever you are writing and make it your best effort.

In life, rise to your peak.

Don’t waste a moment of your time on producing garbage. Everything you produce is a potential building block towards bigger things. Every moment of your time and every bit of your effort is valuable.

Rising to your peak has little to do with how many people know who you are and how many of your books line the shelves. It is about how fully you realize your own potential. In everything. All the time.

Think of one bad habit, that you can change right now, one that is holding you back from realizing your greatest potential.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

