Writing From Scratch

The heaviness of being successful was replaced by the lightness of being a beginner again, less sure about everything. It freed me to enter one of the most creative periods of my life. –Steve Jobs

Are you at the beginning of a new journey in your life right now? Maybe you’re taking a new direction in a journey that you have been on for a while. It’s really not a bad place to be. The beginning holds so much promise. The beginning is where I am in my writing career. I started this blog to help me connect with a community of writers, new and seasoned. In the past couple of years, I have started writing children’s non-fiction, but my focus right now is picture books. When I contemplated this journey in writing, I worried about starting from scratch at this point in my life. What had I missed with all of those years spent traveling down other paths?

If I focus on what I have gained up to this point in my life instead of what I have missed, then it’s a whole different story. Then, I can look at how my experiences up to this point can enrich and inform my writing. This can only add to the depth and meaning behind what I create. Have you looked back at your life and appreciated the richness exists in it?

The writing world has an infinite pantry of ingredients that I can’t wait to dive into. The possible end results are as numerous and varied as one can imagine. Are you feeling pressured to commit to a cuisine? Don’t. If you are new to the craft like I am, take a moment to appreciate all of the options writing has to offer. I fully committed to this journey a little less than a year ago, and already I have sampled children’s picture books, short stories, novel writing and even a little taste of non-fiction writing. I am relishing in the infinite choices of what I ultimately can do with this growing interest.

If you are new to writing, you really are in an enviable position. The new writer can step back and appreciate the immensity of what this craft has to offer without yet having become fully immersed. So explore this world with all five senses and see where this journey takes you. Let the colors of a classic picture book dazzle your eyes. Read prose aloud to yourself and let the words drip off your tongue and dance in your ears. Appreciate the ache in your fingers as they clutch a pen or pound away at your keyboard. Get lost in nostalgia when the smell of a well read library book drifts into your nose when you first crack it open. And as for my personal favorite sense, taste, grab a warm mug of something luxurious, sit down with a good read and study what those before you have produced.

So roll up your sleeves and let’s jump in and write something grand. This is just the beginning of this blog, so I’m just getting started over here. I hope you will stick with me as this blog grows and hopefully supports you in your writing journey.

So, where are you in your journey?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Writing From Scratch

  1. Kwame

    Have a great time on your journey. It sounds exciting.

  2. Nakia Scott

    Yay! Way to go writerreinvented 🙂 I love your blog. Can I post on it every day? 🙂

  3. Trace! I am so excited for you!

  4. As your critique partner, love the blog!

  5. Lincia

    This was extremely inspiring 🙂
    http://twntysmthng.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

